Dorothy Hill Medal

The call for nominations are currently closed

Referee reports for the 2021 round are due by 22 June 2020. The Nominations for the 2022 award will open in early 2021

Award background and eligibility

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

The award supports research in the Earth sciences, by women researchers up to 10 years post PhD in the calendar year of nomination, except in the case of significant interruptions to a research career. An honorarium of $3000 is offered.

The award may be made annually, for research carried out mainly in Australia. It is restricted to candidates who are normally resident in Australia and who have the potential to further contribute to a better understanding of Australian Earth science.

Candidates may be put forward for more than one award. If a proposed candidate is already the recipient of an Academy early-career honorific award, they will not be eligible for nomination for another early-career or mid-career honorific award. A mid-career honorific award recipient will also not be eligible for nomination for another mid-career honorific award.Fellows of the Academy are ineligible to be nominated for early and mid-career awards


(Please submit your nominations using the Nominate button found on the left of this webpage)




2019—L. Menviel

2018—T. D. Ainsworth 

Formerly known as The Dorothy Hill Award

2017—J Whittaker

2016—A. Taschetto

2015—N. Abram

2014—M. Seton

2013—L. Alexander

2012—K. Black

2011—K. Benkendorff

2010—N. Webster

2009—D. Rubatto

2008—S.N. McLaren

2007—L.K. Armand

2006—A. Dutkiewicz

2005—M.J.H. van Oppen

2004—S.E.A. Wijffels

2003—K.M. Trinajstic

2002—A.D. George


© 2020 Australian Academy of Science